This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
CONTENTS WINTER 2016


FEATURES 6 The Amalfi Coast


20 TheWines of Italy


Hidden gems in Amalfi, Positano and Ravello.


With a wine history dating back more than 4,000 years, Italy is one of the most diverse winemaking countries in the world.


DEPARTMENTS 4 Benvenuti! from Steve Perillo 16 Amalfi Insider


Te best places to visit, plus a guide to our favorite shops, restaurants, cafes and hotels.


30 Book Review Great Reads About Italy.


32 Savvy Traveler Travel Insurance.


EDITORIAL David H. Soskin, Editor-In-Chief | dsoskin@perillotraveler.com |203-856-6885


Lena Palmer, Managing Editor | mpalmer@perillotraveler.com |203-852-6570, x 238 Suzanne Conway, Associate Editor | Mary Beth Weiss, Art Director |


info@perillotraveler.com mbw@weisscom.com


|203-852-6570, x 226


Kathy McCabe, Contributing Editor | Carla Mantiglia, Contributing Editor | Duncan Pollock, Contributing Editor PUBLISHING


Clifford P. Tallman, Publisher |ctallman@perillotraveler.com |203-858-1604 Joe D’Alto, Regional Sales Manager | Jackie Tobin, Regional Sales Manager |


jdalto@perillotraveler.com jtobin@perillotraveler.com


John Holden, Regional Sales Manager | jholden@perillotraveler.com Taylor Coate, Account Executive |


Heidi Nelson, Digital Media Coordinator | hnelson@perillotraveler.com JoAnn Sardo, General Manager |


tcoate@perillotraveler.com jsardo@perillotraveler.com


Steve Perillo |


ADVISORY COUNCIL steve@perillotours.com


rconti@perillotraveler.com


|212-289-4567 |212-929-1300 |203-594-7366 |212-929-1300


|203-852-6570, x 228 |203-939-9125


Tracy McCarthy | tmccarthy@perillotraveler.com |203-939-9124 Rich Conti |


|201-307-1234 |201-819-9168


Cover: Beautiful Positano. Coast of Amalfi, Italy Copyright: Maugli-l/Bigstock Contents Page (from top): Amalfi coastline view from Ravello. © Laura Thayer; Ripe red wine Grapes in Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy. © sassyphotos/Bigstock; Duomo (Cathedral) of Amalfi. © Laura Thayer


Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Published quarterly (4x per year) by Merritt Media Partners, LLC. Perillo Traveler content may not be reproduced without the consent of the Publisher.


The management and editors make every effort to publish accurate information. How- ever, neither the management nor editors can be held liable for erroneous information.


REPRINTS AND EPRINTS: To purchase, please contact JoAnn Sardo, General Manager at jsardo@perillotraveler.com or 203-939-9125.


www.perillotraveler.com | Winter 2016 | | 3


33 Calendar What’s going on in Italy, Greece, Costa Rica and Hawaii.


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36