Priceless Vol 1 Number 9


Our Future Depends On It

Serving HBCU Alumni, Students, Faculty, Staff and Friends

40th Annual Conference on the Black Family

Page 9

Delaware State University Establishes Presidential Search Committee

The Future of Black Women

HBCU Awarded $450,000 Air Force Research Grant

Page 13 Page 15

Dr. William R. Harvey Receives John Hope Franklin Award

Free Spring 2018

Dr. Harvey with fellow 2018 Franklin Award winners Dr. Darlene Hine and Dr. James Duderstadt Delaware facilitate

has established a Presidential Search

DOVER, Del. State

will lead to the appointment of the 11th president of Delaware

the process that Committee

as the permanent successor to former President Harry L. Williams.

State University

17-member committee is Mr. John Ridgeway, interim vice chair of the DSU Board of Trustees, as well as alumnus and senior executive with the Toyota Motor Corporation; the committee’s vice chair is Ms. Lois M. Hobbs, DSU Board of Trustees member and former superintendent of the Indian River School District in Sussex County.

The chairperson of the the committee include Other members

following:;Dr. Devona Williams, interim chair, DSU Board of Trustees

the of

University to

Castle, member, DSU Board of

interim of

Social SciencesDr. Cherese Winstead, chair, Department of Chemistry; Dr. Nirmaljit Rathee, Education Graduate Program director, College of Education,

Arts, Humanities

College and

Public Policy Dr. Praveen Pinjani,


associate professor, College of Business; Dr. Gulnihal Ozbay, research professor, College

associate Agriculture of College dean/

Sciences; Mr. Dennis Jones, director of Media Relations, Department of Athletics; Ms. Naima

recording secretary Student Government Association Ms. Sheila Davis, president, DSU Alumni Association;

Duncan, PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH PAGE 14 and Related of and

Dr. Francine Edwards, dean,

The Honorable Michael

Trustees; Ms. Irene Chapman-Hawkins, vice president, Human Resources

WASHINGTON – Hampton University President Dr. William

Harvey received the prestigious John Hope Franklin Award, recognizing his outstanding achievements in higher education, at the 100th national meeting of the American Council of Education in Washington, D.C.


The award, presented by Diverse: Issues In Higher Education magazine, is named in memory of Dr. Franklin’s scholarly contributions to the nation on an ongoing basis. Past award recipients

include Dr. Clifton Wharton, Bill and Melinda Gates, Dr. Maya Angelou and legendary civil rights leader Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.). Dr. Harvey knew and respected Dr. Franklin.

In his acceptance remarks, Dr. Harvey said, “I was privileged to know this giant of a man on a personal basis starting in 1970 when he was chairman of the board of trustees at Fisk University and I was assistant to the president. His honesty, integrity,

of adversity, dignity and demonstrated intellect, courage in the face DR. HARVEY PAGE 11

President David Wilson Receives Maryland Senate’s First Citizen Award

During a Maryland special

ceremony held on the floor of The Senate Chamber, President of the


Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. honored Morgan State University President David Wilson with the

2018 First

Healthy Recipe Editorial

HBCU Sports Opinion

This Edition’s Highlights of Sweet Potato Tater Tot Nachos

Healthy Mind, Body and Spirit = Healthy Finances Claflin Accepted in CIAA Lifting Up New Leaders-The Future of Black Women

Upcoming Events Scholarships Watch

CAU Small Business Conference Jesse Jackson Fellows Scholarship 4

11 13 10 6

Award, in service

the 15 of Maryland Citizen

his distinguished to

and his

ongoing contributions to the advancement of higher education. Dr. Wilson was one of three recipients of the award, including University of Maryland, College President Wallace Loh and

Park Maryland

Court of Appeals Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera.

“It is truly an honor to be included

among the distinguished Marylanders to have received this great recognition,” Dr. Wilson said. “I accept this award on behalf of the many hands that have participated in the fulfillment of a shared vision for the

success of our university and our students. It is their dedication that has made this honor possible.”

The First Citizen Award is given

annually by the president of the Maryland Senate to Marylanders who have been dedicated and effective participants in the process of making government work for the benefit of all. The award is named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, who wrote a series of influential letters published in 1773 in the Maryland Gazette under the name “First Citizen.” At the time,


recognition people

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16