This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
INTERNATIONAL LAW STUDENTS ASSOCIATION 25 E. Jackson Blvd. Suite OMB 1051 Chicago, IL 60604 Phone: 312.362.5025 Fax: 312.362.5073

A Publication of the International Law Students Association

ILSA EXECUTIVE OFFICE STAFF Lesley Benn, Executive Director Vivian Shen, Programs Director Joe Terrenzio, Jessup Competition Director Matt Szuminski, External Relations Coordinator

ILSA QUARTERLY EDITORIAL BOARD Vivian Shen, Editor-in-Chief Matt Szuminski, Editor Joe Terrenzio, Editor

STUDENT EDITORIAL BOARD Joshua Ash; West Virginia University College of Law Kaitlin Ball; University of Georgia School of Law Rachel Catlett; Washburn University School of Law Blake Evans; University of Georgia School of Law Tia Haywood; Case Western Reserve Univ. School of Law Pinky Mehta; University of Pennsylvania Law School Saiena Shafiezadeh; The John Marshall Law School Steven Wu; University of Kansas School of Law

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Chair: Dagmar Butte, Esq. Parker, Butte & Lane

Treasurer: Steven M. Schneebaum Fox Rothschild LLP

Student President: Kaitlin Ball University of Georgia School of Law

Student Vice President: J. Frederick Emert University of Miami School of Law

Student CCO: Vyta Zukauskaite The John Marshall Law School

Prof. William J. Aceves California Western School of Law

Russell Dalfares, Esq. Mark Ellis, Esq.

International Bar Association

The views expressed in each article belong to the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of the International Law Students Association or the Editorial Board. The views are those of devoted members of the legal profession – students and practitioners dedicated to the advancement of international law and international legal education. The ILSA Quarterly thanks its authors for submitting their works for publication.

Submissions to the ILSA Quarterly are accepted from students, academics, practicing attorneys and other legal profession- als around the world. Material must be submitted in Microsoft Word (.doc) format to

Artwork, photographs, and advertisements should be submitted as computer graphic files to the same address. The editors are not responsible for verifying the accuracy of submitted materials and retain the right to edit all submitted materials. All submis- sions become the property of ILSA, and unless otherwise not- ed, all published content is copyrighted by the International Law Students Association, Inc., all rights reserved 2013.

Prof. Stephanie Farrior Vermont Law School Prof. Brian Havel

DePaul University College of Law

Sandra L. Hodgkinson, Esq. Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Detainee Affairs

Jason Johns, Esq.

Deputy Secretary of Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs

Prof. Cynthia Lichtenstein Boston College Law School

Pedro M. Muñoz, Esq. Arias & Muñoz

Louis O’Neill, Esq. White & Case LLP

Prof. Michael Peil Washington University in St. Louis School of Law

David Quayat, Esq. Lenczner Slaght

Claire van Overdijk No5 Chambers (London) and University College London

Prof. Mark E. Wojcik The John Marshall Law School

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56