This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
SOLUTIONS ISSUE #2 2016 Funding initiatives with the

power to help physicians create a healthier future for all Texans.


Deborah A. Fuller, MD President

Leslie H. Secrest, MD Vice President

Mary Love (Bitsy) Henderson Secretary

James A. Prentice, MD Treasurer

G. Sealy Massingill, MD Immediate Past President

Angie Donahue

Executive Committee Member-At-Large Jessica A. Best, MD

Resident and Fellows Section Representative

Carlos J. Cardenas, MD TMA President-Elect Matthew L. Edwards

Medical Student Section Representative Jedidiah Grisel, MD

Shannon Hancher-Hodges, MD

Young Physician Section Representative Patrick A. Hearn

Isabel V. Hoverman, MD

Gregory R. Johnson, MD SFHM Milla Perry Jones Robert W. Jones David Landry Robert Michelin

Lee Ann Pearse, MD Susan M. Pike, MD

Rajam Ramamurthy, MD

Eldon Stevens Robinson, MD Kate Rogers

Michael E. Speer, MD

Charlotte M. Stelly-Seitz, MD Daniel V. Vijjeswarapu, MD E. Linda Villarreal, MD D’Anna Wick

What’s inside

Simplify Your Holidays.........................2 2017 Gala Is Out of This World..........3

Meet Winning Students and Teachers.....................................8

SOLUTIONS is published semi-annually by

TMA Foundation, the 501 (c) (3) philanthropic arm of Texas Medical Association.

Generous gifts from TMA Insurance Trust and Frost make this newsletter possible.

Executive Director: Lisa C. Stark Walsh, MA

(800) 880-1300, ext. 1666 or (512) 370-1666 or

Fax (512) 370-1642 Be Wise — Immunize is a service mark of the Texas Medical Association.

Walk With a Doc Texas encourages building the habit of walking just 30 minutes to help reduce the risk of obesity, heart disease, osteoporosis, cancer, and diabetes; improve blood pressure and blood sugar; and elevate mood.

Reach More Texans TMA’s award-winning programs reach more Texans every year to help promote a Healthy Now and a Healthy Future. Plans for 2017 will target resources for greater impact to prevent serious disease and illness and encourage Texans to adopt a healthy lifestyle.

2017 Programs to TMA’s Be Wise — ImmunizeSM (BWI)

program helps improve vaccination rates and educates the public on why vaccinations are safe, important, and effective. TMA and TMA Alliance (TMAA) members protect Texans from serious diseases through education and hands-on immunization clinics. In 2017, BWI will provide 31,000 shots to uninsured and underinsured Texans, an increase of 1,000 shots from 2016.

TMA’s Hard Hats for Little Heads

(HHLH) enables physicians, medical students, and TMAA members to take a proactive and visible role in preventing head injury by giving away bicycle helmets to children in their communities. HHLH encourages Texas children to exercise safely by wearing a properly fitted helmet when bicycling, skateboarding, inline-skating or riding a scooter. Funding for 2017 supports giving away at least 30,500 helmets, 1,500 more helmets than the 2016 target.

TMA’s Minority Scholarship Program annually awards a $10,000 scholarship to a first-year African-American, Hispanic and Native American student at each Texas medical school whose experience includes healthcare volunteerism, community service and high academic standing. With the addition of the University of the Incarnate Word’s School of Osteopathic Medicine in San Antonio, the number of scholarships increases to 12 in 2017.

Walk With a Doc Texas aligns two TMA priorities: fighting the obesity epidemic and reducing health disparities in minority and medically underserved communities. TMA physician members volunteer to establish a walk site and invite patients, along with family and friends, to join them for monthly walks throughout the year. In 2017, the number of sites will increase from 36 to 39 and attract nearly 12,000 participants.

TMA’s Ernest and Sarah Butler Awards for Excellence in Science Teaching promotes the understanding and role of science in our modern society by recognizing a first-place elementary, middle and high school science teacher and their school with a cash award. Starting in 2017, second place teachers will receive a cash award, in addition to the grant their school receives for science curriculum enhancement.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12