This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.

Like us on Facebook

NEW QUAY Football Club

look set to stay in the Costcutter Ceredigion League after recruiting a number of new players. It had been rumoured that the

club were to withdraw from the league because of a lack of players but that situation has now been resolved. The club are now very optimistic

that they will have a team ready for the upcoming season. New Quay FC Secretary, Andy

Johnson, said: “We began struggling for players towards the end of last season and lost a couple of key senior players over the summer due to work commitments. This made the task of arranging pre-season friendlies and training sessions extremely difficult. “Since its formation, New Quay

Football Club has always had at least one senior football team. During the last week or so I think the enormity of the situation has spurred people into doing everything possible to raise a team. “One of our more experienced

players, Charles Harvey, made an appeal for players online, the

response to which has been brilliant. Players who hung their boots up years ago (myself included) have answered the call to arms and we are now very optimistic that we will have a senior team! “We have an open training

session for players of all abilities and fitness levels at our pitch on Saturday (Aug 20) between 2pm and 3.15pm. “I must also add that the

Ceredigion League have been extremely helpful and are doing everything possible to help us.” A spokesperson for the Central

Wales Football Association told The Herald: “We would be concerned to lose any club and there is no reason why a club with good facilities and good support, like New Quay FC, should not thrive. “League officials always try to

support clubs in difficulty and will be assisted by Central Wales FA where possible. “The Costcutter Ceredigion

League offers excellent local competitions and we are looking forward to another successful season for football in South Ceredigion.”

Richards and Felton master the course

77 Sport New Quay FC to stay in league Evans set for tough battle


CHAMPIONSHIP has travelled the length and breadth of the UK, taking in rounds in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, and so far this season, three different event winners as well as eight different crews have stood on the podium in the opening five rounds. Championship leader, Elfyn Evans,

in his DMACK British Rally Team Ford Fiesta R5, has already recorded a hat-trick of victories. The World Rally Championship star

OVERNIGHT rain had left parts

of the Aberystwyth Parkrun route a bit slippery for the event on Saturday (Aug 13), but 19 of out 85 runners still miraculously achieved PBs - well done all!

There was a bit of excitement at the

start when a new runner, who led the field initially, ran through the marshals instead of going round the cone then turned back into the following runners. A few collisions later, all was sorted

out and no harm done! The organisers extended a big welcome to all the first- timers who attended the event, and hope that the Olympics will inspire more people to take up some sort of sport. Running is a good foundation for many sports, as well as being a very satisfying sport in its own right. Male placings: Keith RICHARDS (VM40-44) of

Aberystwyth AC, was first over the line in 18:13 - second time in 51 appearances. Matt BULLER (SM25-29) of Eye

Community Runners, was second over the line in 18:34. Vic WALSH (VM35-39) of Belle

Vue Racers, was third over the line in 18:42. Current standing in the Men’s annual points competition: Mark LEWIS (Unattached) 3874 pts. Evan (Mel) HOPKINS (Unattached)

3823 pts. Balázs PINTÉR (Aberystwyth AC) 3644 pts.

Female placings: Lizzy FELTON (SW30-34) of Clwb

Rhedeg Pontardawe Running Club, was first (18th overall) over the line in 21:46 - third time in five appearances. Alix ARNDT (VW35-39)

(Unattached) was second (20th overall) over the line in 22:27 - was first to finish once before. Helen MASON (SW30-34) of

Market Drayton Running Club, was third (30th overall) over the line in 24:34. Current standing in the Women’s annual points competition:

Leo LEWIS (Unattached) 3681 pts. Karen DAVIES (Unattached) 3610


Anke C (Unattached) 3242 pts. The following runners recorded

the best Age Grade scores: Nick HOOPER (VM50-54) was

graded 77.30% for the time 19:14 (sixth overall). Keith RICHARDS (VM40-44) was

graded 76.67% for the time 18:13 (first overall). Vic WALSH (VM35-39) was graded

71.39% for the time 18:42 (third overall). This week there were 85 runners,

of whom 17 were first timers and 19 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 14 different athletics clubs took part.

has shown his quality, taking the spoils on the Mid Wales Stages, Scottish Rally and Nicky Grist Stages – and comes to the Ulster Rally as the favourite for outright victory. The Welshman, with Craig Parry sat

alongside, won’t have it his own way as the chasing pack will all want to topple the series leader. Tom Cave has been improving in

pace as the campaign has unfolded, having never been out of the top four with James Morgan on the notes. Cave is desperate to take a win in 2016 and

will pull out all the stops to beat fellow countryman Evans in his Michelin-shod Fiesta R5. Swedish sensation Fredrik Ahlin

and Norwegian navigator Morten Erik Abrahamsen (Ford Fiesta R5) have had a rollercoaster of a season to date. The Pirelli-backed driver pushed Evans all the way on the opening round before landing his first win on round three, the Pirelli Carlisle Rally two months later. Costly errors on the Circuit of Ireland and the Nicky Grist Stages, along with a mechanical failure on the Scottish, put the Scandinavian in third on the championship points board. Ahlin is one man who is hoping

for the luck of the Irish to help bring him back into the title fight. CA1 Sport teammate David Bogie (Skoda Fabia R5) with Irish co-driver James O’Reilly find themselves seventh in the standings. The Scottish driver has shown blistering pace this season and will want to harness the speed and return to the podium, which he last achieved on the Circuit of Ireland. In 2016, drivers have elected to play their ‘Jokers’ to double their points. Two

drivers yet to play their card are dark horses for rostrum honours. Josh Moffett/ John Rowan (Ford Fiesta R5) won the BRC element on the Circuit of Ireland and Jonathan Greer/Kirsty Riddick (Citroen DS3 R5), who finished just behind the Fiesta pairing, will want to emulate their success on home ground this weekend. Watch out too for a whole host of

series returnees. Multiple BRC champion Keith Cronin/Mikie Galvin (Citroen DS3 R5) will want a strong BRC finish to show his class. Local stars Marty McCormack and David Moynihan in their Skoda Fabia S2000 held the lead on the Circuit of Ireland, before a heart-wrenching fuel pump failure denied them a home win. A committed driver, McCormack won’t hang around in his Kumho-backed machine. Matt Edwards and Will Rogers

have had a phenomenal season in their Mitsubishi Evo 9 in the BRC2 category, wrapping up the title on the previous round – the Nicky Grist Stages. The pair will be eager to shine on the Ulster as the crew step-up to the BRC1 category, driving a brand-new Ford Fiesta R5.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56