This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Continuing Professional Development Guide for Midwives

Introduction Continuing Professional Development (CPD),

is part of the process by which healthcare professionals maintain competency in knowledge and skills, update their knowledge and skills, stay up to date with the newest developments and best practices, improve their professional image, increase job satisfaction, and increase their own opportunities for professional advancement. Around the world, courses and other activities are offered as CPD for healthcare profession- als, and participation in these activities is an important part of professional practice and licensing.

The purpose of CPD is ultimately to improve

the health status of Ethiopians through the delivery of quality health services by competent health profession- als. The Federal Ministry of Health (FMOH) and the Ethiopian Food, Medicine, and Healthcare Administra- tion and Control Authority (EFMHACA) have developed CPD guidelines for healthcare professionals in Ethiopia, including midwives. In Ethiopia, healthcare profession- als are required to have professional licensing in order to practice in the healthcare system. Licenses must be renewed every 5 years to continue in practice, and this process includes an ethical and competence evaluation. Part of that evaluation process is participation through- out the licensing period in CPD activities, and each health professional is required to accumulate 30 Continuing Education Units (CEU) per year. Presenta- tion of certiicates of completion for each CPD course or other proof of CPD activities is required for license renewal.

What is CPD? CPD is deined as the range of learning activi-

ties through which health professionals maintain knowledge and skills and continue to develop through- out their career to ensure that they retain their capacity

Key Features CPD must be a documented process. This

means that participants will register for courses, sign in for them, and receive certiicate of completion or some other documentation that they have completed the course. The courses will focus on learning by experi- ence, relection, and review through formal and infor- mal learning processes- there are a variety of learning methods that will be used. Self-directed CPD, such as research, writing a paper or a book, or other similar types of CPD activities require that the papers, books, or other materials created as part of the activity be provided by the midwife in order to receive CEU for that activity.

Individual professionals, not their employers,

are responsible for directing their own CPD courses, they are expected to set goals and objectives for their professional development and to include CPD activities as part of that development. They are responsible for participating in appropriate CPD activities and obtain- ing the appropriate CEUs each year.

to practice safely, effectively, and legally within their evolving scope of healthcare practice. By participating in CPD activities, professionals earn Continuing Educa- tion Units (CEUs) which count toward the requirements for professional license renewal.

Types of CPD Activities CEUs can be earned in a wide variety of ways

as long as they are properly accredited. Among possible ways to earn CEUs are participation in in-service train- ing and in workshops, e-learning (online courses), participation in scientiic conferences, reviewing research articles for journals, publishing research articles, contributing writing to books or training modules, writing a book, presenting orally or by poster at a conference, guest lecturing, assessing thesis work, participating in a panel discussion, and delivering a training or workshop.

CPD for Midwives All healthcare professionals, including

midwives, must renew their professional licenses every 5 years. For relicensure, 30 CEUs are required every year for a total of 150 CEUs earned for license renewal. Midwives are responsible to provide the certiicates of completion for all courses they attend as documenta- tion of the CEUs earned, or other proof of CPD activities.

Each year 30 CEUs are required. Extra CEUs

earned may not be used for the next year, each year is separate. No CPD course can provide more the 15 CEUs per course, most will provide less. CEUs can only be earned for each course once each licensure period, no course can be retaken for additional credit during that licensure period. Courses must be relevant to or related to midwifery practice. Courses that are not relevant for the ield will not be approved for midwifery CPD. Any professional who is licensed in more than one profes- sion, for example, as a nurse, must also meet the CEU requirements for that profession each year.

EMwA's Role in CPD for Midwives EMwA is the pre-accreditor for all CPD courses

for midwives. This means that EMwA is authorized to evaluate courses or activities for CPD in comparison with the CPD guidelines and to pre-approve them for CPD use. This pre-accreditation is then used by FMHACA as a recommendation to formally approve the course for midwifery CPD. EMwA is also an authorized CPD provider, and is developing multiple courses inter- nally, which will also be pre-accredited, submitted, and approved by the FMHACA as CPD courses.

Currently, several courses are being developed

by EMwA staff and will be available soon. EMwA is developing an online CPD management system, online courses, and in-service courses which will meet CPD requirements. As courses become available EMwA will notify members and chapter ofices via the website, multimedia and social media, at various meetings and conferences throughout the year, and in person at chapter ofices and various other locations

Page 1  |  Page 2