This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Membership Matters


DEGRESSION AND SUSTAINABILITY CRITERIA PROVE HOT TOPICS AT POST-ELECTION MEMBERS’ MEETING


12 May, the event saw Charlotte Morton highlight the cost-effectiveness of AD, as well as its non-energy benefits, before outlining the industry’s impressive growth rate over the last five years, revealing: “We are now delivering the electrical equivalent capacity of 454 MW – almost identical to the Wylfa nuclear power plant.” Charlotte was also keen to point out the ways in which AD is benefitting Britain’s agricultural sector, commenting: “AD is complementing and supporting UK farming, providing stability in the face of volatile commodity markets.”


K


Charlotte’s rousing speech was followed by Chris Huhne, ADBA’s Strategic Advisor, who provided an invaluable insight into how the new government could impact the future of our sector. “The Conservatives will only give significant support to renewable technologies that provide good value, clean energy,” he asserted. Chris’ evaluation of the cost of AD compared to other renewables concluded that, while AD may appear more expensive at first glance, the cheaper renewables are intermittent. When storage costs are factored in, AD represents good value and is actually less


expensive than both wind and solar. Chris also highlighted the agricultural benefits of AD, adding: “Rural diversification is high on the priority list for any party which represents farming communities.” Chris therefore concluded that, “AD is a Conservative-friendly renewable.”


Our Head of Policy, Matt Hindle, then provided an in-depth presentation on the upcoming FIT Review, confirming that the industry has already exceeded the annual 20 per cent degression trigger for sub-500 kW plants. The consultation is expected to be launched before Parliament breaks for summer recess, making spring 2016 the most likely time for any new tariffs and structures to be introduced.


ADBA’s new board member, Dr David Greenfield from SOENECS, explained the complex structure of local authorities in England and advised members to fully research their local area to gain the best chance of a successful tender. David was followed by Will Bushby, ADBA’s Policy Officer, who gave an overview of the latest developments regarding the RHI and biomethane, before Ofgem’s James Veaney spoke about the regulator’s consultation on ways to make grid connections easier.


The final speaker was Ofgem’s Senior Policy Manager, Katy Read, who highlighted the complex area of sustainability criteria. The criteria will take effect from 5 October 2015 for both domestic and non-domestic RHI and will apply to all new and existing participants generating heat (or heat and power) from biomass or biogas, as well as those producing biomethane for injection. Members can read our policy report for a full breakdown of the information that will be required by Ofgem – adbioresources.org/docs/POLICY_REPORT_MAY_2015.pdf


To view the presentations from the Members’ Meeting, go to the members’ area at adbioresources.org


42 AD & BIORESOURCES NEWS | JUNE 2015


eeping AD on the political agenda was the prime concern at ADBA’s first Members’ Meeting since the General Election. Sponsored by Matchtech and held at London’s Grand Connaught Rooms on


“As a new ADBA member, I was keen to attend the Members’ Meeting to network and find out more about the sector, in particular how the General Election result will impact on my clients and the industry as a whole.”


Bobby Benson, Robert Adams Search & Selection Ltd TEAM


Chief Executive, Charlotte Morton T + 44 (0)203 176 0503 E charlotte.morton@adbioresources.org


PA to Chief Executive, Eleanor Maroussas T +44 (0)203 567 1041 E eleanor.maroussas@adbioresources.org


Strategic Advisor, Chris Huhne E chris.huhne@adbioresources.org


Head of Policy, Matt Hindle T +44 (0)203 176 0591 E matt.hindle@adbioresources.org


Policy Officer, Will Bushby T +44 (0)203 176 5440 E william.bushby@adbioresources.org


Market Analyst, Ollie More T +44 (0)203 567 0751 E ollie.more@adbioresources.org


PR & Parliamentary Affairs Manager, Derek Sivyer T +44 (0)203 176 5441 E derek.sivyer@adbioresources.org


Sales Manager Jamil Ahad T +44 (0)203 176 4414 E jamil.ahad@adbioresources.org


Sales Executive, Rachel Fenton T +44 (0)203 176 5418 E rachel.fenton@adbioresources.org


Head of Marketing Services, Helen Reddick T +44 (0)203 176 0592 E helen.reddick@adbioresources.org


Event Producer, Ed Gavaghan T +44 (0)203 176 4415 E edmund.gavaghan@adbioresources.org


Senior Marketing Executive, Vera Litvin T +44 (0)203 176 0590 E vera.litvin@adbioresources.org


Senior Marketing Executive, Kelly Oxenham T +44 (0)203 176 5417 E kelly.oxenham@adbioresources.org


Marketing Executive, Barbara Landell Mills T +44 (0)203 176 7767 E barbara.landellmills@adbioresources.org


Database Marketing Assistant, Andre John T +44 (0)203 567 0769 E andre.john@adbioresources.org


Accountant, Amy Pritchard T +44 (0)203 176 6962 E amy.pritchard@adbioresources.org


Office Executive, Peter Mackintosh T +44 (0)203 176 0503 E peter.mackintosh@adbioresources.org


AD Finance, Bruce Nelson, Director of Compass Renewables T +44 (0)1732 464495 E bruce@compassbusinessfinance.co.uk


AD & Bioresources News Managing Editor, Kirsty Sharpe T +44 (0)1920 821873 E kirsty.sharpe@adbioresources.org


AD & Bioresources News Editor, Kate O’Reilly T +44 (0)7894 039609 E kate.oreilly@adbioresources.org


www.adbioresources.org adbioresources.org


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44