This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
BCBC marks quarter-century


n April 9 the B.C. Blueberry Council celebrated its 25th (silver) anniversary with more than 400 people attending the evening gala in Surrey.

This event was a milestone for the blueberry industry, with provincial agriculture minister Norm Letnick and executive director of the U.S. High Bush Blueberry Council Mark Villata as guest speakers.

Also in attendance were MP Kerry- Lynne Findlay, MLAs Bruce Ralston, Darryl Plecas, Doug Bing, Harry Bains, Scott Hamilton, Stephanie Cadieux and Sue Hammell as well as several mayors and councillors from the Fraser Valley-Lower Mainland area.

Awards and recognition were given to founding growers Oscar Austring, Paul Dhillon, Mike Makara and Rajinder Lally.

Appreciation awards were

B.C. Blueberry Council chair Jason Smith, left, presented appreciation awards to the provincial agriculture ministry’s berry specialist, Mark Sweeney, middle, and Abbotsford grower Parm Baines, right.

presented to Bill Whaley, Charn Purewal, Mark Villata and Mark Sweeney, whose award was presented by B.C. Blueberry Council chair Jason Smith on behalf of the industry in recognition of his years of work and


Sweeney and Parm Bains co-hosted the event.

A reminder for all blueberry growers, the annual general meeting is being planned for Friday, June 5.

12 British Columbia Berry Grower • Summer 2015

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24