This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
welcome to


Welcome Back... Welcome to the second edition of Garden Centre Retail, we really hope you enjoyed reading the fi rst issue and judging by the feedback we have had so far, we seem to have pitched the magazine just right. Thank you to those who have already completed the survey on our


fi rst issue, (www.surveymonkey.com/s/fi rstissuesurvey) on which we scored very highly. We hope the research from this issue scores even higher and again we look forward to hearing your feedback. As we write, we have just come out of a fantastic weekend for weather,


so we hope that the great British public has been out and about visiting their local garden centres and spending money. Within this issue we have a fantastic selection of content, including


an interview with Garden Centre Association CEO Iain Wylie on pages 25-28, more business tips and opinions from industry professionals and the second instalment of Paul Pleydell’s store design feature. Also, fi nd out about the HTA’s National Garden Gift Voucher scheme, which Tony Stacey, marketing manager, told us all about on pages 22 and 23. With all this and more, we know you’ll really benefi t from reading the second issue of Garden Centre Retail. Let’s hope the sun continues to shine, enjoy your read and have an


excellent month…


Jim & Lisa Wilkinson Directors, Garden Centre Retail


C O N T R I B U TO R S PHI L EVANS


Director, Phil Evans Marketing and Public Relations Company


DAVID STANDING


Commercial Director, AIS Ltd.


A N D I N D U ST RY PAUL PL E YDE L L


Director, Pleydell Smithyman


JEREMY DAVI ES


Director, British Managing Director, GCS (GB) Limited


LUCY SUMMERS


Garden Designer & Writer


K E I TH BATEMAN


Director, Davidson Richards


EX P ERTS JANE PERRONE


Gardening Editor, The Guardian


K E VIN WATERS Gardening Consultant


contact


ALL ENQUIRIES Tel: 01903 777 570 Eljays44 Ltd 3 Churchill Court, 112 The Street, Rustington, West Sussex BN16 3DA


EDITORIAL GCReditor@eljays44.com Director – Lisa Wilkinson lisa.wilkinson@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 579 Deputy Editor – Rose Hales rose.hales@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 578 Features Editor – Alex Farnham alex.farnham@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 573 Merchandise Editor – Joe Wilkinson joe.wilkinson@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 577


ADVERTISING Business Development Manager Jamie Wilkinson jamie.wilkinson@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 588 Senior Account Manager Daniel Burridge daniel.burridge@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 582 Jaime Russell jaime.russell@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 583 Accounts/Admin Assistant Ellie Downes ellie.downes@eljays44.com accounts@eljays44.com Tel: 01903 777 587 Managing Director Jim Wilkinson jim.wilkinson@eljays44.com


PRODUCTION Design – Olivia White Kara Thomas


Printed by Pensord Press Ltd, Gwent, UK Published by ©Eljays44 Ltd Connecting Horiticulture


MANAGEMENT Managing Director – Jim Wilkinson Director – Lisa Wilkinson Business Development Manager Jamie Wilkinson


CONNECT WITH US Read everything from up-to-date news to the digital version of the magazine Web: www.gardencentreretail.com Twitter: @GardenRetailUK Facebook: Garden Centre Retail LinkedIn: Garden Centre Retail


CIRCULATION Subscription enquiries: lewis.dan@eljays44.com


GUY MORE TON Director, MorePeiople


Garden Centre Retail is published 12 times per year by Eljays44 Ltd. 2014 subscription price is £95.00. Subscription records are maintained at Eljays44 Ltd, 3 Churchill Court, 112 The Street, Rustington, West Sussex BN16 3DA. Articles and information contained in this publication are the copyright of Eljays44 Ltd and may not be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publishers. The publishers cannot accept responsibility for loss of, or damage to, uncommissioned photographs or manuscripts.


WWW.GARDENCENTRERETAIL.COM 3


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52