This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
The next issue of the ADA Gazette will be published on 16 June 2014 Contents 4 Comment


HEADLINE 5 ADA produces 10 point fl ood risk plan


The offi cial magazine of the Association of Drainage Authorities


CONTACTS Editor | Jean Venables jean.venables@ada.org.uk


Technical Editor | Roger Venables roger.venables@ada.org.uk


Senior Policy Advisor | David Sisson david.sisson@ada.org.uk


Researcher | Tim Vickers tim.vickers@ada.org.uk


Researcher | Sam Edwards sam.edwards@ada.org.uk


Researcher | Peter Bide peter.bide@ada.org.uk


Design, Production & Photography | Sharon Grafton sharon.grafton@ada.org.uk


Administration | Barbie Lovett barbie.lovett@ada.org.uk


ENQUIRIES Tel 020 8399 7350 | admin@ada.org.uk


ARTICLE SUBMISSIONS Fax 020 8399 1650 | gazette@ada.org.uk Article submission deadlines found at: www.ada.org.uk/gazette.html


ADVERTISING sam.edwards@ada.org.uk Tel 020 8399 7350 | Fax 020 8399 1650 Advert booking forms available upon request www.ada.org.uk/advertising.html


WEBSITE | www.ada.org.uk ONLINE GAZETTE | /gazette.html NEWS | /news.php


SUBSCRIBE TO ADA E-NEWS barbie.lovett@ada.org.uk


ADA OFFICE 6 Electric Parade, Surbiton, Surrey, KT6 5NT Tel 020 8399 7350 | Fax 020 8399 1650 admin@ada.org.uk


President Lord De Ramsey DL


Chairman Henry Cator OBE FRICS DL


Chief Executive Jean Venables CBE FREng


Vice Presidents John Grogan


Anne McIntosh MP David Riddington OBE DL Robert Sturdy MEP


32-33 Directory


VIEWPOINT 34 David Smith, Chief Executive, Energy Networks Association (ENA): Engineering resilience into our infrastructure


ADA NEWS 6 In brief 6 ADA Chairman writes to David Cameron 6 Jean Venables on the Today Programme – BBC Radio 4


NEWS 7Wettest January in Southern England since 1910 7 Severe fl ooding in Southern England over Christmas 8 Flooding timeline: October '13 – February '14 10 December Coastal Flooding: IDB experiences 12 Floods and Partnership Working 12 Somerset action plan 13 In brief 13 Defra Farming Recovery Fund Announced


NEWS FROM MEMBERS 14 St Germans Pumping Station – new UK record? 14 Chris Thorpe celebrates 25 years with Southery & District IDB


14 Obituary: Ted Grant, Witham Fourth IDB


LEGAL & GUIDANCE 16 In brief 16 Q & A: Making an insurance claim from the recent storm and fl ooding events


17 Local Audit and Accountability Act 17 River Restoration in Europe: The art of the possible


FEATURES 18 Reducing fl ood risk – dredging and other management strategies


20 Floods, farming and 'crass simplifi cation'


ENVIRONMENT 20 In brief


BUSINESS & TECHNOLOGY 22 McConnel opens its doors for EXPO 2014 Showcase 25 Emergency response to Tidal Surge 26 Benefi ts of water level radars are out in the open 27 PANOLIN in the North Sea 28 Clearing debris from the fl oodwater 29 Spearhead TWIGA SPV – A better view 30 RSPB fi nd new uses for PTO pump


Reducing fl ood risk – dredging and other management strategies


COVER IMAGE


Just some of the many words used by politicians, experts and the public to describe the fl ooding which began in December 2013 and is currently dominating the news.


ADA Gazette is published quarterly at the ADA Offi ce and printed on environmentally responsible paper at Pensord Press Limited TM www.ada.org.uk


18


Flooding timeline: October '13 – February '14


8


ada gazette SPRING 2014 | CONTENTS


Viewpoint: David Smith 'Engineering resilience into our infrastructure'


34


3


(Martin Redding)


(Phil Brewin)


(ENA)


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36