This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
2012-2013 Spirit of Philanthropy Awards Southwest Wisconsin Award Winner: Cindy Tang T

Cindy Tang knows something about getting things done. A highly successful business executive, Tang barely let the ink dry on the sale of her company before turning her energies to advocating for Platteville and encouraging other community leaders to invest in the city as well.

A special cause has been the PHS Scholarship Fund which Tang helped to create in 2009. In its first three years of operation, the Fund generated $55,000 in additional scholarship monies for Platteville High School graduates. In 2013, the Fund generated $90,000 of scholarships for the Class of 2013 alone. It was a need that could not be postponed, according to Tang.

“Post secondary education costs have increased tremendously,” said Tang. “Our students were receiving a fraction of the scholarships other communities were offering.”

Tang led by example creating the Cindy Tang Scholarship Fund as part of the PHS Scholarship family of funds program. Then she encouraged others to do the same. There are currently 20 named funds that are part of the PHS family of funds.

Barb Daus, Southwest Wisconsin donor services representative, has seen Cindy work her magic on other community leaders time and time again. “Her infectious can-do attitude encourages those around her to step up and become involved.”

Rock/Walworth Award Recipient: Nancy Nelson

Nancy Nelson, above left with Jane Maldonis, was recognized for her leadership of the Evansville Fund and its annual Chocolate Extravaganza fundraiser.

Green/Lafayette Award Recipient: Charlie Baumann

Charlie Baumann, above with Linda Gebhardt, was recognized for his leadership of the Monroe Excellence in Education Fund and its annual “Steak and Shake” fundraiser which has raised more than $40,000 for the Fund.

Pictured above left: Eileen Nickels, chair of the Platteville Community Fund, Cindy Tang, Spirit of Philanthropy Award recipient, and Sue Conley, executive director of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin. In addition to her advocacy for the PHS Scholarship Fund, Tang serves as a member of the advisory board of the Platteville Community Fund and the Community Foundation corporate board. Tang also has established a separate donor advised fund with the Community Foundation from which she can make grant recommendations for charitable causes.

Pictured above right: Cindy Tang presents a scholarship award to Cagla Muslu, Class of 2012.

he annual Spirit of Philanthropy Awards recognize Foundation volunteers who lead and live philanthropic lives. Recipients are honored for giving consistently and generously of their time and resources, for making things happen in their communities, and for encouraging others to do likewise. Awards are given in each of the Community Foundation’s three service regions. 2012-2013 Annual Report


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12