This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
2012-2013 T Spirit of Philanthropy Awards

he annual Spirit of Philanthropy Awards recognize Foundation volunteers who lead and live philanthropic lives. Recipients are honored for giving consistently and generously of their time and resources, for making things happen in their communities, and for encouraging others to do likewise. Awards are given in each of the Community Foundation’s three service regions.

Green/Lafayette Award Winner: Charlie Baumann

Charlie Baumann, of Monroe, has a heart for education. So much so that a few years ago, Baumann left his executive position at Colony Brands to become a math teacher at Monroe Middle School.

But Baumann’s commitment to education doesn’t end in the classroom. For the past three years, he has chaired the annual “Steak ‘n Shake” fundraiser for the Monroe Excellence in Education (EIE) Fund bringing in more than $40,000 for the Fund.

“Charlie’s organizational and business skills make this the easiest fundraising event to put together in our area,” said Linda Gebhardt, Green/Lafayette donor services representative.

In addition to chairing “Steak ‘n Shake,” Baumann is serving his second three-year term as a Monroe EIE advisory board member and just completed a term as the Fund’s chair. Last year the Monroe EIE Fund awarded more than $13,000 in grant support for educational programs in the Monroe School District, the most of any education fund in the Community Foundation’s nine-county service area. Among the awards was a grant that provides for an iPad for every Monroe sixth grader.

"Getting involved with EIE was a no-brainer,” said Baumann, whose education advocacy efforts began with a school referendum initiative of a few years ago. “I was aware of the need for funds to support innovative projects and teaching strategies. With two of my own kids in the Monroe school system, putting my efforts toward EIE was a natural.”

Charlie Baumann, pictured above with Linda Gebhardt, was recognized for his leadership of the Monroe Excellence in Education Fund and its annual “Steak and Shake” fundraiser which has raised more than $40,000 for the Fund.

Southwest Award Recipient: Cindy Tang

Cindy Tang, above right, was recognized for her leadership of the PHS Scholarship Fund. Tang also serves on the boards of the Platteville Community Fund and the Community Foundation. Shown with Tang above is Eileen Nickels, chair of the Platteville Community Fund.

Rock/Walworth Award Recipient: Nancy Nelson

Nancy Nelson, above left with Jane Maldonis, was recognized for her leadership of the Evansville Fund and its annual Chocolate Extravaganza fundraiser. 2012-2013 Annual Report 7

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12