This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
2012-2013 Spirit of Philanthropy Awards Rock/Walworth Award Winner: Nancy Nelson T

Nancy Nelson thinks she may have been asked to serve on the Evansville Fund advisory board because of her experience as a fundraiser for UW- Madison. But, Nelson’s heart for the community also may have had something to do with it.

“A community is where we live, raise our children, and grow our spirit,” said Jane Maldonis, donor services representative for the Community Foundation, “and Nancy Nelson is passionate about the community of Evansville.”

Nelson, a lifelong Evansville resident, has served nearly 12 years on the Evansville Fund’s advisory board and is its current chair. She is the founder and champion of the annual Chocolate Extravaganza, a major fundraiser for the Evansville Fund. “It’s like my ‘baby,’ and I want it to keep growing and being successful,” she said. She also has organized other fundraising events and spearheaded giving appeals for the Fund.

She even brought her mother into the Evansville Fund family. Her father, Alvin Helgesen, was a longtime Evansville businessman who died in 1996. “My mom wanted to do something to honor his lifelong commitment to Evansville and the people who supported his business over the many years,” she said. In 2008, Nancy and her family created the Alvin & Dorothy Helgesen Family Fund, a component of the Evansville Fund.

During Nelson’s tenure on the board, the Evansville Fund has increased its assets by more than 12 times, from $10,000 to $125,000. Grant awards to the Evansville community during Nelson’s tenure have exceeded $52,000.

Photo above top, Nancy Nelson receiving her Spirit of Philanthropy award from Jane Maldonis, Rock/Walworth donor services representative.

Photo above bottom, Nancy Nelson with her mother, Dorothy Helgesen.

Southwest Award Recipient: Cindy Tang

Cindy Tang, above right, was recognized for her leadership of the PHS Scholarship Fund. Tang also serves on the boards of the Platteville Community Fund and the Community Foundation. Shown with Tang above is Eileen Nickels, chair of the Platteville Community Fund.

Green/Lafayette Award Recipient: Charlie Baumann

Charlie Baumann, above with Linda Gebhardt, was recognized for his leadership of the Monroe Excellence in Education Fund and its annual “Steak and Shake” fundraiser which has raised more than $40,000 for the Fund. 2012-2013 Annual Report 7

he annual Spirit of Philanthropy Awards recognize Foundation volunteers who lead and live philanthropic lives. Recipients are honored for giving consistently and generously of their time and resources, for making things happen in their communities, and for encouraging others to do likewise. Awards are given in each of the Community Foundation’s three service regions.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12