This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
A magical evening

SPE Aberdeen’s Annual Awards ceremony, at Offshore Europe 2013, was a magical affair, thanks to the amazing conjuring skills of MC Ivor Smith, of Fifth Dimension.

Welcomed by SPE Aberdeen Chairman Anthony Onukwu, guest of honour, SPE President Egbert Imomoh, congratulated the Section for its achievement in winning the President’s Award for Excellence for the fourth year in a row, as well as the 2013 Section Award for Innovation. He described enthusiastic local volunteers as “the oil that fuels the SPE global engine” and told members: “I really appreciate all the hard work that’s being done by the volunteers in Aberdeen - particularly in the classroom, as that’s the future.”

Section Awards were presented to: Maria Trujillo, former Chair of the Another Perspective Committee; Ross Taylor, Co-chair of the Schools Career Guidance Committee, and to the University of Aberdeen SPE Student Chapter. The 2013 SPE Regional Service Award for the North Sea Region was also presented to long-standing Aberdeen board member John Donachie.

SPE YP Europe Petro League

…and the WINNER is… By Nikhil Shindgikar, on behalf of SPE Aberdeen YP Committee and SPE YP Europe Petro League Committee

Winners of the inaugural SPE YP Europe Petro League competition - a team from the University of Aberdeen - scooped the top prize of £2000, by impressing a judging panel of leading industry professionals with their extensive technical knowledge of the oil and gas industry.

The new six-round student competition, organised by SPE Aberdeen Young Professionals Committee with the support of SPE Aberdeen, involved 10 teams of students studying oil and gas-related subjects competing for the prize. The day-long competition, hosted at Offshore Europe, tested the participants with case study analysis and quick-fire Q&A sessions.

The judging panel included: Hugh Rees, Subsurface Manager at BP; Alan Johnson, Principal Petrophysicist at Shell; John Harris, President of Gaffney, Cline & Associates, and Nikhil Shindgikar, Section Head of Green Well Services Chemicals and REACH for Europe & Africa at Schlumberger.

The winning team, ‘KAMA’, said they were delighted to have been awarded first place in such a challenging competition, and to have been recognised for their hard work and preparation. They described the event as a worthwhile and highly-rewarding experience.

During the competition, participants made new connections within the sector, which will help them during their job search.

The event organising committee, led by Oludare Elebiju from SPE YP Aberdeen, worked hard to put up a great show, and this, together with the enthusiasm and determination of each team, contributed to the overall success of the competition.

Our thanks to all the students who entered this year’s Europe Petro League, and special thanks to the event sponsors Maersk (GOLD Sponsor) and Palantir (BRONZE Sponsor).

WINNING SMILES (l-r): Anthony Onukwu and President Egbert Imomoh, with SPE Aberdeen award winners: Maria Trujillo; Elvis Osung and Illia Kuznietsov (University of Aberdeen Student Chapter); John Donachie, and Ross Taylor Young-Professionals/318982074875817

President Imomoh’s volunteering theme was carried through to SPE Aberdeen’s ‘kick-off’ meeting, on 12 September, which showcased the work of the Section’s committees, provided a valuable networking experience for new members and underlined Anthony Onukwu’s key message: “YOU are the SPE.”

The winning KAMA team, from the University of Aberdeen, with Petro League panellists.


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12