This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.

...where people make the difference

The Special Areas’ main strength is its people. Their prairies disposition coupled with the strength and stability of the Special Areas Board frames a solid

foundation to build programs, initiatives and governance.

Special Area No. 2, Special Area No. 3, and Special Area No. 4 make up this interesting and vibrant region.

The Special Areas offers diverse programs and services.

These services include 

Maintenance of over 6000 kilometers of local roads

 Construction of local roads 

Operation and maintenance of Special Areas Municipal Parks

 Provision of water services  Public land management

 

Operation and maintenance of community pastures

Agricultural development & conservation programming

Emergency and protective services 

Rural stabilization and economic development programs

The Special Areas is a rural municipality in Southeastern Alberta. Its boundaries outline over 5 million acres of land and are home to almost 5000 residents.

The Special Areas is a unique type of municipality, administered by a Board of three members appointed by Lieutenant Governor in Council. In addition to the Board, an Advisory Council of 13 members is elected in accordance with the Local Authorities Election Act and represents the residents of the three Special Areas.

Visit us for more information about the Special Areas:


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16