This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
P ROTECTIVE C OATINGS E UROPE


CONTENTS 4-5


LIFTING THE LID Sherwin-Williams’ thoughts on the Leighs Paints acquisition


April – June 2013 IN THIS ISSUE: Rising Tide • Thames Barrier Protection • Reducing Underwater Friction 6-15


Founded in 1926, Graco is a world leader in fluid handling systems and components. Graco products move, measure, control, dispense and apply a wide range of fluids and viscous materials used in vehicle lubrication, commercial and industrial settings. The company’s success


is based on its unwavering commitment to technical excellence, world-class manufacturing and unparalleled customer service.


UP FRONT The rise of tidal power and delivering in a tough and uncompromising environment


16-23


SPOTLIGHT Protecting London’s Thames Barrier


24-31


ANALYSIS The devil is in the detail with DFT and a simpler solution in complex coating game


32-41


IN FOCUS Reducing underwater friction and health and safety for the inspector


42-45 GRACO BVBA


Industrieterrein-Oude Bunders, Slakweidestraat 31 B-3630 Maasmechelen, Belgium


Phone: +32 89 770 700 Web: www.graco.com


46-52


REVIEW Across the Generations reviewed


UPDATE Foam jackets for steel columns


53-56


NEWS The latest products and industry news


Issue: April-June 2013 Volume No.5 Issue.2 ISSN No. 1085-5645


Subscription Rates January 2013 – December 2013 (4 issues) EUROPE £71 OVERSEAS £74


January 2013 – December 2013 (8 issues) EUROPE £122 OVERSEAS £141


SUBSCRIBE TODAY! www.protectivecoatingseurope.com


EUROPE’S LEADING MAGAZINE FOR PROTECTIVE COATINGS


MPI Group, as a body, is not responsible for any opinions expressed in PCE by contributors. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior permission of MPI Group.


© Marine Publications International Ltd 2013


MPI Group Peel House Upper South View Farnham, Surrey GU9 7JN, England


Editor: Mark Langdon mark.langdon@protectivecoatingseurope.com


Technical Editor: Mike Garside mike.garside@protectivecoatingseurope.com


Editorial Consultant: David Deacon david.deacon@steel-protection.co.uk


Advertisement Manager: Helen Read helen.read@protectivecoatingseurope.com


Production Manager: Tom Bennett tom.bennett@mpigroup.co.uk


Designer: Fiona Andreanelli fiona.andreanelli@mpigroup.co.uk


Accounts: Claire Long claire.long@mpigroup.co.uk


Publisher: Andrew Deere andrew.deere@mpigroup.co.uk


PROTECTIVE COATINGS EUROPE


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60