This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
SHORTLISTED! from page 1

Ian Phillips, director of CO2 Deepstore Limited and the SPE board member responsible for the organisation of the awards, says: “Our re-launch of the Awards in 2011-12 was extremely successful and it was important for SPE Aberdeen, as the organisers, to continue to build upon this platform. The level of interest we received this year demonstrates that the awards are a highlight of the energy industry calendar.”

The black tie awards evening will take place on Thursday 21 March 2013, at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. Winners will be announced on the evening and presented with a bespoke trophy designed by Robert Gordon University student Ewan Gray (see front page). Back by popular demand and fresh from his ‘The Story Continues. . .’ Tour, comedian Kevin Bridges will return to host this year’s awards ceremony.

Leo Koot, Managing Director of TAQA Bratani, says: “We are delighted to be supporting the Offshore Achievement Awards for a second year. It is of huge importance that we recognise success and high performers, and also encourage and foster a culture of innovation to ensure the long-term sustainability of our industry.”

The OAA finalists in each category are:

Emerging Technology (sponsored by Nexen) Champion Technologies; SPEX Group; WEB Rigging Services

The Innovator (sponsored by BG Group) Red Spider Technology; Stork Technical Services; Tendeka

Safety Innovations (sponsored by Petrofac) Houlder; Reflex Marine; Stork Technical Services

Export Achievement (sponsored by Champion Technologies) ASET International Oil & Gas Training Academy; Craig International Supplies; Online Electronics

Working Together (sponsored by EnQuest) Decom North Sea; Expro; Maersk – Gryphon Area Recovery Project

As well as sponsorship from TAQA Bratani and media sponsorship from the Press & Journal, the Offshore Achievement Awards are also supported by Dana Petroleum, Mearns & Gill, thinkPR, J. Thomson Colour Printers, AREG, Vision Events, Gray’s School of Art, EnerMech, Offshore Engineer and Recharge.

For more information on the event or to enquire about table booking, please visit, or call: + 44 (0)1224 646311.

WELL TESTED! (continued from page 1) By Maya Hussain, OPC

A lot of people dream of receiving a big cheque, but for recent graduate Percy, in November it became a reality! The annual Well Test Analysis Award of £500 is offered by OPC to the Imperial College MSc Petroleum Engineering student whose thesis most impresses Department Chairman Professor Alain Gringarten and OPC.

Percy, now a Reservoir Engineer at Shell Exploration and Production Companies in Nigeria, focused his thesis on history matching for the heavily-faulted Egret Field, in the North Sea. In recent times, fault seal breakdown is seen to have significant impact on recovery. The ability to predict these impacts on well productivity is critical to optimal well placement, reservoir management and field development decisions, particularly for HP/HT deep water developments. Percy’s thesis fills the knowledge gaps in dynamic fault seal modelling by presenting a new concept on how to characterise the sealing nature of reservoir boundaries and achieve history matches in reservoirs where seal

factors change dynamically. This was achieved using pressure transient analysis, production analysis and the deconvolution method. The report demonstrates that using well test interpretation results and a systematic approach to fault seal analysis results in a history-matched model that explains how fault seal breakdown can be constructed.

Piers Johnson, OPC Managing Director, said: “I have a long-standing relationship with Professor Gringarten, as we’ve been doing well testing all our lives. OPC is pleased to continue to offer this prestigious prize and we wish to congratulate Percy, whose thesis was chosen as being a significant contribution to reservoir characterisation from well test interpretation.”

Professor Gringarten, Director of the Centre for Petroleum Studies at Imperial College, added: “We are grateful to OPC for their continuing support. They are an example of what companies can do to encourage and reward excellence at universities.”

OPC is an independently owned, globally renowned leader in the provision of professional expertise, management and support to the E&P industry.


Young Professional (sponsored by Maersk Oil) Neil Clark, Nexen; Barry Mitchell, Wood Group PSN; Graham Skinner, KCA DEUTAG Drilling

Great Small Company (sponsored by Wood Group PSN) FIS Chemicals; Online Electronics; ROVOP

Great Large Company (sponsored by Offshore Europe) Axis Well Technology; Bibby Offshore; The Craig Group

Significant Contribution (sponsored by Aker Solutions) To be announced at the awards ceremony

Two of Bibby Offshore’s technicians at work – the company has been shortlisted in the Great Large Company category at this year’s Offshore Achievement Awards.

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16