This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Case 5: Is a player allowed to jump over the net into the opponent’s court while the ball is in play?


Decision: No. The player loses the point.


Case 6: A player throws the racket at the ball in play. Both the racket and the ball land in the court on the opponent’s side of the net and the opponent(s) is unable to reach the ball. Which player wins the point? Decision: The player who threw the racket at the ball loses the point.


Case 7: A ball that has just been served hits the receiver or in doubles the receiver’s partner before it touches the ground. Which player wins the point? Decision: The server wins the point, unless it is a service let.


Case 8: A player standing outside the court hits the ball or catches it before it bounces and claims the point because the ball was definitely going out of the correct court.


Decision: The player loses the point, unless it is a good return, in which case the point continues.


25. A GOOD RETURN It is a good return if: a. The ball touches the net, net posts/singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, provided that it passes over any of them and hits the ground within the correct court; except as provided in Rule 2 and 24 (d); or


b. After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the ball into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24; or


c. The ball is returned outside the net posts, either above or below the level of the top of the net, even though it touches the net posts, provided that it hits the ground in the correct court; except as provided in Rules 2 and 24 (d); or


d. The ball passes under the net cord between the singles stick and the adjacent net post without touching either net, net cord or net post and hits the ground in the correct court, or


e. The player’s racket passes over the net after hitting the ball on the player’s own side of the net and the ball hits the ground in the correct court; or


f. The player hits the ball in play, which hits another ball lying in the correct court.


Case 1: A player returns a ball which then hits a singles stick and hits the ground in the correct court. Is this is a good return? Decision: Yes. However, if the ball is served and hits the singles stick, it is a service fault.


Case 2: A ball in play hits another ball which is lying in the correct court. What is the correct decision?


Decision: Play continues. However, if it is not clear that the actual ball in play has been returned, a let should be called.


11


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43