This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
24. PLAYER LOSES POINT The point is lost if:


a. The player serves two consecutive faults; or b. The player does not return the ball in play before it bounces twice consecutively; or


c. The player returns the ball in play so that it hits the ground, or before it bounces, an object, outside the correct court; or


d. The player returns the ball in play so that, before it bounces, it hits a permanent fixture; or


e. The receiver returns the service before it bounces; or f. The player deliberately carries or catches the ball in play on the racket or deliberately touches it with the racket more than once; or


g. The player or the racket, whether in the player’s hand or not, or anything which the player is wearing or carrying touches the net, net posts/singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the opponent’s court at any time while the ball is in play; or


h. The player hits the ball before it has passed the net; or i. The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or carrying, except the racket; or


j. The ball in play touches the racket when the player is not holding it; or


k. The player deliberately and materially changes the shape of the racket when the ball is in play; or


l. In doubles, both players touch the ball when returning it.


Case 1: After the server has served a first service, the racket falls out of the server’s hand and touches the net before the ball has bounced. Is this a service fault, or does the server lose the point?


Decision: The server loses the point because the racket touches the net while the ball is in play.


Case 2: After the server has served a first service, the racket falls out of the server’s hand and touches the net after the ball has bounced outside the correct service court. Is this a service fault, or does the server lose the point? Decision: This is a service fault because when the racket touched the net the ball was no longer in play.


Case 3: In a doubles match, the receiver’s partner touches the net before the ball that has been served touches the ground outside the correct service court. What is the correct decision?


Decision: The receiving team loses the point because the receiver’s partner touched the net while the ball was in play.


Case 4: Does a player lose the point if an imaginary line in the extension of the net is crossed before or after hitting the ball? Decision: The player does not lose the point in either case provided the player does not touch the opponent’s court.


10


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43