This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Published by the Webster-Kirkwood Times


The eleventh class of inductees to the Webster Groves High School

Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame has been selected and will be honored at a banquet Saturday, Sept. 29 at Westborough Country Club in Webster Groves. There will be seven individuals and one team inducted into the Hall

of Fame: George Massengale, 1918, state champion sprinter for WGHS

who went on to qualify for 1920 Olympics in Belgium. Glenn Brickey, 1951, played five years of minor league baseball

and 21 years of semi-pro baseball in the St. Louis area. Brickey was inducted into the St. Louis Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame in 1996. Don Carter, 1953, was a 1st team all-state player on the WGHS

1953 final four basketball team. He played baseball and basketball at SMU and was inducted into the St. Louis Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame in 1992. Robert Bobbitt, 1956, was a Douglass High School basketball star

who played at Texas Southern and then for the All-Army and the All- Armed Forces teams from 1960-62. Steve Braun, 1978, was a three-time state champion diver at

WGHS and the 1981 Big 8 champion for Mizzou in one-meter diving.

OPEN HOUSE FOR HS NEW WING AUG. 19 The public is invited to tour the new addition to Webster

Groves High School from 2-4 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 19. Come see the beautiful new building made possible by passage of Proposition

W in 2010. The 100,000-square-foot-addition includes space for industrial technology, fine arts, social studies and science instruc- tional space.

Andre Nelson, 1980, was the quarterback and place kicker on

WGHS’ 1979 state championship football team. Nelson set a single season passing record that stood for 20 years. Jennifer (Prah) Ruger, 1984, was a tennis state finalist as a

freshmen in 1980 for WGHS who then played in national and professional events while still in high school. Ruger was an NCAA All- American in 1986 for U.C.- Berkley. 1978 WGHS football team, undefeated with a record of 9-0-1. Also honored at the banquet will be the winners of this year’s

special awards. The Tyke Yates “Good Guy” Award will be presented to Mark and Tammy Arnold; the Froebel Gaines Family Award will be presented to the family of Peter and Lauren Bakker-Arkema and their four daughters; Lily, Julia, Hannah, and Haley. The Charles Roberts Coaches’ Award will be presented to Philip Wojak. The Statesmen Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet is always a

sellout. To reserve your tickets contact the Webster Groves High School Activities Office at 314-963-6400 ext. 11955. The cost of the dinner is $50 per ticket.


Friendly Faces Wanted • Great Pay

• Flexible Hours • Close to School • Make Friends • College Tuition Reimbursement Plan • Management Opportunities


3 CONVENIENT LOCATIONS! 11355 Gravois • 10215 Watson • 12864 Tesson Ferry

Discounts for faculty and staff of the Webster Groves and Affton School Districts

Joseph S. Grimaud, D.D.S 8537 Watson Road St. Louis, MO 63119


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32