This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
16 April 2012 • Vol. 17, No. 4

Leadership to Graduate 19 Leaders Leadership Bismarck-Mandan, the program cred-

ited with producing some of the area’s top leaders, is winding down and will commence with a graduation ceremony on May 9, 2012. Throughout the past seven months, 19 students have participated in bi-monthly “Issue Days” to gain exposure to the current commu- nity aff airs and build their leadership skills.

The following students will be recognized during a luncheon, which is open to Chamber members and Leadership alumni:

Mia Amini, Cumulus Melissa Artlip, Medcenter One Occupational Therapy Andrea Blowers, Basin Electric Power Cooperative

Adam Dever, Eide Bailly April Eide, Duemelands Lori Gross, NRG Technology Services Kilee Harmon, St. Alexius Foundation Ryan Heinsohn, Liberty Business Systems

Ryan Larson, NISC Greg McDonald, ND Air National Guard Michael McMerty, Bismarck Police Department

Michelle Miller, Kadrmas, Lee & Jackson

Janelle Moos, ND Council on Abused Women’s Services

Lynette Borjeson Painter, Bismarck State College Carissa Richter, ND Chamber of Commerce Sammy Romans, Minervas/Kelly Inn Christy Schafer, Cloverdale Foods Carey Schreiner, ND Department of Transportation Amber Sevitts, HIT, Inc.

Monopoly Tournament Attracts Crowd

The Leadership Bismarck-Mandan graduation luncheon will take place on Wednesday, May 9 at the Seven Seas Hotel & Waterpark in Mandan. Registration begins at 11:45 a.m.; lunch and the graduation ceremony start at noon. Purchase tickets online at or by calling the Chamber at 223-5660. Admission is $20 per person and includes lunch.

Electricians Program Offered at UTTC

The tension was high. Low murmured

conversation was taking place at each table. Every once in a while, a “YES!” rose above the low din. As the 90 min- ute regulation time was winding down, the noise got a little louder as players were eliminated and winners were elated. Lunch was served and then the whole thing repeated itself. On Saturday, Feb. 18 the 6th Annual

Hasbro Junior Achievement Monopoly Tournament took place at Mandan High School. With more than 100 play- ers, the cafeteria at Mandan High was transformed into tables and tables of potential tycoons. The atmosphere was intense as bankers tried to keep on top of the happenings at each table, mak- ing sure all rules were followed by the players who were anxious to occupy as many properties as they could in as short a time as possible. Kids and adults alike were vying to get the irst Monopoly and prizes were given out for the irst bankruptcy and the irst person to own all the property in a category.

At right, Kenneth Clark (Muskogee/Creek/Tlingit) talks about an electri- cal circuit with Jordan Goulet (Turtle Mountain) during the United Tribes 2010 Native electricians “boot camp” at the NJATC training facility in Bismarck, ND. Dennis J. Neumann, United Tribes News

United Tribes Technical College is

off ering a new round of training for Native Americans interested in becom- ing electricians. The college began accepting applications on March 12 for its “Native American Electrician’s Training Program.” The program is scheduled for 16

weeks. Eight weeks of pre-apprentice- ship instruction, including classroom and hands-on training, is set to begin May 29 and run through July 20, fol- lowed by eight weeks of apprentice- ship work.

When the inaugural course was

off ered in 2010 it attracted Native students representing tribes in eight states around the nation. It became

known as Native electricians “boot camp.”

“Judging from the previous course,

we expect about 200 applications,” said Barbara Schmitt, United Tribes Economic Development Director and coordinator of the electricians pro- gram. “The class size is limited so the application process is important.” United Tribes will accept applica- tions until April 2. Detailed information about program

requirements and application forms can be accessed online at the college website,, under events and announcements by clicking on Na- tive American Electricians Program.

When the players weren’t engaged in Monopoly, they were in the game room where they had the opportunity to try their hand at one of the Kinect games provided by Best Buy or they were engrossed in lying an airplane with the four light simulators provided by Aeronautics Education North Dakota (AEND) and Mike McHugh’s Career Academy Aviation program. Junior Achievement and Cumulus

Broadcasting (stations Hot 97.5, Clas- sic Rock 96.5 The Fox, Cool 98.7, US 103.3 and Super Talk 1270) would like to thank the following sponsors and organizations who helped to make the Monopoly tournament a success: Best Buy, Walmart North and Seven Seas Hotel and Waterpark provided the Grand Prizes. Big thanks to Mark An- dresen and Mandan High for allowing us to use the cafeteria for the event.

Sponsorships were made by North-

west Contracting, John & Cheryl Castleberry, Front Street Millwork, Ace Sprinkler Systems, Montana Da- kota Utilities, Gate City Bank, Liberty Business Systems, Pepsi Beverages Company, Missouri Valley Petroleum, Brady Martz & Associates, Bismarck- Mandan Young Professionals Network, Agency MABU, Bismarck State College, Kadrmas, Lee & Jackson and Bobcat of Mandan.

Other Chamber member contribu-

tors include: Hansen’s Men’s Wear, Jerome Distributing Grand Theatres, Bank of North Dakota, Northland Financial, Applebees, Space Aliens, McDonalds, Capital Credit Union, Kup- per Chevrolet-Subaru, Delta Waterfowl, Gold’s Gym, Capital Electric, and Open Road Honda. Junior Achievement would especially

like to thank Ms. Monopoly Nicole Morrison-Mathern from Service Mas- ter Professional Services for emceeing and being our favorite Ms. Monopoly. JA would like to extend a special thank you to Syd Stewart and Cumulus Broadcasting for their radio sponsor- ship and support. Congratulations to the following

players who took the bragging rights and prizes for the event: 4th-8th Grade: Grand Prize Winner was Lane Ternes, 2nd place was Derek Wolf and 3rd was Caely Stenejhem. 9th-12th Grade-Grand Prize winner was Andrew Becker, 2nd was Jayden Bradner and 3rd was Ian Wolf. Adult Grand Prize winner was AJ Alston, 2nd was Gordy Johnson and 3rd was Chris Higbee. Consolation prizes were also given to the following: Haley Delorme, Grant Ehli and Gary Ternes. Thanks to all of our volunteers and participants who helped to make the 6th annual Junior Achievement Mo- nopoly tournament a huge success!

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24