This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
The Island of Malta

Malta is an island nation in the Mediterranean Sea of southern Europe and is an archipelago of seven islands. Malta became a member of the European Union in May 2004.

The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) was established in July 2002 and is an autonomous public institution reporting to the Maltese Parliament annually. It has supervisory functions for the Malta financial sector, including banking, investment and insurance as well as managing the Registry of Companies.

The financial services sector in Malta is one of the fastest growing sectors of the Maltese economy and one of the most important employers of trained professional staff.

Malta has an excellent infrastructure including good telecommunications, well equipped ports, a fully developed manufacturing industry and a sophisticated European business environment.

The main languages spoken are English and Maltese. Many Maltese are also fluent in Italian, Arabic, German and French with other major world languages sometimes also being spoken.


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16