This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
A DMINISTRATI v E MANAGER’S COLUMN T


General Manager Norman Rich nrich@themac.com


Senior Executive Assistant Melania Oppat moppat@themac.com


Chief Financial Officer/AGM Tim Arbogast tarbogast@themac.com Executive Assistant Julie Yocom jyocom@themac.com Security Manager Dennis Wright dwright@themac.com


Controller John Foley jfoley@themac.com


Purchasing Manager Barry Kaufman bkaufman@themac.com


Athletic Director Edward Stoner estoner@themac.com Assistant Athletic Director Pete Greer pgreer@themac.com Aquatics Manager Lisa Virtue lvirtue@themac.com


Fitness Manager Darrell Duvauchelle dduvauchelle@themac.com Gymnastics Manager Meg Doxtator mdoxtator@themac.com Junior Sports Manager Dan Baggett dbaggett@themac.com Outdoor Manager Chad Failla cfailla@themac.com Squash Manager Khalid Mir kmir@themac.com


Tennis Manager Wayne Pickard wpickard@themac.com


Communications Director Michole Jensen mjensen@themac.com Communications Manager Tony Roberts troberts@themac.com


Food & Beverage Director Cameron McMurry cmcmurry@themac.com Executive Chef Philippe Boulot pboulot@themac.com


Private Dining Manager Dorcas Popp dpopp@themac.com


Human Resources Director Alison Beppler abeppler@themac.com


Member Services Director Linda Ornelas lornelas@themac.com Child Care Manager Dawna Yntema dyntema@themac.com


Guest Services Manager Christine Natonek cnatonek@themac.com


The -M-Porium Manager Tonya Mitchell tmitchell@themac.com Member Events Manager Abby DenUyl adenuyl@themac.com Member Manager Dave Hanna dhanna@themac.com


Facilities Director Mark Ellington mellington@themac.com Capital Projects Manager Dale Cook dcook@themac.com


Physical Plant Manager Dwayne Brantley www.theMAC.com


he ultimate gift of giving came from many of our members and communities in and outside the club this year when they helped pay the medical bills of Larry McKee. The husband of Babs Dalbey-McKee, Larry is success- fully fighting a brain tumor. Although he


Norm Rich GENERAL MANAGER


carried medical insurance, it was weak and non-supportive, and the McKees were left devastated with enormous medical bills. Larry was unable to drive or work. Members and friends drove Larry to daily radiation for six weeks while Babs went to work. Members organized an auction, gave generous gifts, and staff and members helped raise $41,000, taking the family out of debt and giving them hope for the future.


What more can I say, we are a community serving and looking after one another; member to member, staff to members and members to staff. This was completely arranged by members outside the club and is a gift that will never fade from the McKees or my perspective. In fact, when Babs shared the news with me I was completely speechless – which doesn’t happen often – and proud to serve a membership that makes such generous gifts to such a deserving family. I am sure Larry and Babs will enjoy their holiday season in every way imaginable, knowing so many people are looking after them and good thoughts and great prayers are with them.


Holidays are here


This year the Holiday Decorating Committee selected Winter Sports as its theme. Please join the committee and MAC President Bill June as they flip the switch on our holiday tree in the Cornerstone Lounge on Thursday, Dec. 1 at 6:30 p.m. Members are encour- aged to arrive early for a special treat in the Turnaround. Some of Santa’s very special friends are joining us – the rein- deer from Timberview Farm. Members


have the opportunity to pet the reindeer from 4:30–6:30 p.m. Families can also decorate pre-constructed gingerbread houses at 5 or 7 p.m. and enjoy musical entertainment throughout the evening. Reservations are required for ginger- bread making, and Santa is rumored to make a grand entrance. The Giving Tree returns to the Main Lobby for the holiday gift giving season. Over the years, MAC members’ generosity has meant a Christmas gift for thousands of children who might not have received any other. Beginning on Wednesday, Nov. 30, select a tag and return the gift no later than Wednesday, Dec. 14. Members should keep in mind that the gifts are child-specific, so they are sharing both in the spirit of the season and in a special child’s delight in being remembered. The gifts are donated to local organizations that support women and children in need. Gifts must come unwrapped, but including appropriate boxes is greatly appreciated. In these harder than normal times, I cannot think of a better way of sharing your joy with those that may be less fortunate. I always pick three gift tags for my children to better appreciate the spirit of a giving tree at such a special time of the year.


Member survey


Lastly, I would like to thank the 2,429 members who took time to respond to our Member Satisfaction Index (MSI). I am pleased to report that the MSI finished at an all-time high of 95.4 percent, up from 93.2 percent when the members were last surveyed in 2009. Please turn to page 24 to see the results of the survey. I spent an entire day and evening reading every comment from our members and listening to your likes and dislikes. We will address as many as we can, including parking, as quickly as possible. This process is very meaningful and enlightening. From my family, personally and professionally, I wish our MAC family and members of our community the happiest of the holiday season and a great big new year! WM


DECEMBER 2011 | The Wınged M | 7


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80