This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Captiol Hill Hitting the Hill NSP D.C. Fly-In takes sorghum’s priorities to legislators I

n a two and a half day span in early October, NSP representatives at- tended 23 total meetings on Capitol Hill with legislators from eight diff erent states. The combined eight states—Texas, Oklahoma, Colorado,

Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, Minnesota, and Michigan—account for more than 4.8 million acres of sorghum planted for grain in 2011, which is 91 percent of the total sorghum planted for grain in the entire United States.

The 23 Hill visits were distributed as follows: • 11 visits in the Senate • 6 meetings with Senators • 5 meetings with Senate staff ers • 12 visits in the House • 9 meetings with Representatives • 3 meetings with House staff ers

Overall, NSP representatives logged over 120 man-hours in the House and Senate combined. The NSP delegation also met with agriculture committ ee leaders from both the House and Senate and USDA leadership, including NRCS Chief Dave White and USDA Senior Advisor to the Secretary Bran- don Willis. NSP fl y-in delegates discussed with legislators the importance of crop insurance, a strong safety net, and energy policy to sorghum growers. See p. 15 for more details on NSP’s policy priorities.

Senate Meetings Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Senate Agriculture Committ ee Chairman Pat Roberts (R-KS)

Senate Agriculture Committ ee Ranking Member Ben Nelson (D-NE)

Michael Bennett (D-CO) Mike Johanns (R-NE)

Senate Agriculture Committ ee Jerry Moran (R-KS)

Appropriations Committ ee James Inhofe (R-OK)

Environment and Public Works Committ ee Mark Udall (D-CO)

Energy and Natural Resources Committ ee John Cornyn (R-TX)

Budget and Finance Committ ee Tom Coburn (R-OK)

Joint Committ ee on Defi cit Reduction

House Meetings Frank Lucas (R-OK)

House Ag Committ ee Chairman Collin Peterson (D-MN)

House Ag Committ ee Ranking Member

Mike Conaway (R-TX) Henry Cuellar (D-TX)

Randy Neugebauer (R-TX) Scott Tipton (R-CO)

Tim Huelskamp (R-KS) Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE) House Agriculture Committ ee

Adrian Smith (R-NE)

Committ ee on Ways and Means Cory Gardner (R-CO)

Energy and Commerce Committ ee

Blake Farenthold (R-TX) Transportion Committ ee Bill Flores (R-TX)

Natural Resources, Budget Committ ees

House Ag Committee Chairman Frank Lucas (R-OK) meets with NSP DC Fly-In participants in October. Photo by Lindsay Kennedy


USDA Meetings Dave White NRCS Chief

Brandon Willis

USDA Senior Advisor to the Secretary SORGHUM Grower Fall 2011

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28