This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.

Te provenance of these guidelines can be traced back to a BERA invitational seminar convened by John Elliott and held at Homerton College, Cambridge in March 1988. Te seminar led to a report published in Research Intelligence 31 (Feb., 1989), which called for a code of practice to be drawn up. In 1991, BERA Council invited Caroline Gipps and Helen Simons to formulate a set of guidelines, drawing with permission from the Elliott report and the recently published American Educational Research Association’s ethical guidelines. Tey published these for members’ comment in Research Intelligence 43 (Summer 1992) and later that year they were formally adopted. As a code of practice the guidelines were universally welcomed but also attracted

a degree of criticism in relation to their scope and application. An example of this was the critique presented by Peter Foster at the 1996 BERA conference. Following Peter Foster’s death in 1999, his paper was reproduced in Research Intelligence 67 as a tribute to his work. Michael Bassey, the then Academic Secretary of BERA, used the paper to promote debate in Council and at the beginning of her presidency in September 2001, Anne Edwards announced her intention to update the 1992 Guidelines. In the spring of 2002, a working group comprising John Gardner (Chair), Ann

Lewis and Richard Pring began the task of revising the guidelines. Over the next 18 months, several consultative exercises were carried out and in the Spring of 2004, the final draft of the Revised Ethical Guidelines for Educational Research (2004) was moved by John Furlong (President) and formally adopted by Council. Tese guidelines stood unchanged until concerns began to be raised about aspects of some contemporary research contracts running contrary to the Association’s declared principles and ethical code; for example, those that prevent or inhibit publication. In late 2008, therefore, Pamela Munn (President) set up a working group to examine and make recommendations on these issues. Te subsequent report, from David Bridges (Chair), Sean Hayes, Jeremy Hoad, Saville Kushner, Olwen McNamara, Ian Menter and Nigel Norris, came to Council in November 2009. Tis report recommended a number of changes and updates, the latter including the need for updated guidelines on culturally sensitive issues. Council accepted the majority of the changes and asked another small group, comprising Uvanney Maylor, Pat Tompson and David Bridges, to develop the final amendments on cultural sensitivity. Te new Guidelines were then moved by John Gardner (President) and formally adopted by Council in June 2011.

Ethical Guidelines for Educational Research 11

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12