This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
2 · News

NEWS IN BRIEF

Does it pay to be privileged?

President of Universities UK, Profes- sor Steve Smith, has claimed that pupils from a disadvantaged back- groundwhoachieve topALevel grades have more potential than straight A students fromEton.

His comments come afterPeterMan-

delson urged admissions tutors to take into account schoolpupils’backgrounds. Tony Little, Headmaster at Eton, has spoken of his ‘suspicion’ at any admis- sions process that aims to ‘overcompen- sate’ for pupils who come from disadvantaged backgrounds.

ByLAURASTINSON

most read on

london-student.net

Constitutional body no- confidenced at LSE over controversial referendum

Details of UCLmodern lan- guages re-structuring re- leased

Two minutes with Tony Benn

Yemen accepts interna- tional call tocrackdownon terrorists

Valentine’s Day is no use for healthy relationships

Win killer pigDVDs!

Followus on Twitter

londonstudent

and Facebook

www.london-student.net

CONTACT THE TEAM London Student, University of London Union,Malet Street, LondonWC1E 7HY

Editor Hilary Aked 0207664 2054 / 07756 977167 editor@london-student.net

News Editors DannyWhitelock, Dan

Sawney, Andrewde Castro news@london-student.net

Features Editor Emily Henderson

features.editor@london-student.net

Travel Editor Charlotte Dando

travel@london-student.net

Politics Editors

Ingrida Kerusauskaite Alex Naamani politics.editor@london-student.net

Comment Editors

Greg Brown, Holly Thompson comment.editor@london-student.net

Science Editor vacant

science.editor@london-student.net

Sport Editors

CharlesWhitting, CallumNorthcote sport.editor@london-student.net

Photo Editors - Kharunya Paramaguru,

Lorenzo Levrini, Adrian Ng, photo.editor@london-student.net

Play Editors

Barnaby Howes, Daniel Culpan play.editor@london-student.net Arts Editor - Ross Head play.arts@london-student.net

Food Editor Susie Quested

play.food@london-student.net Music Editors BenMechen, Ben Savill

play.music@london-student.net

Screen Editor Jack Kirby

play.screen@london-student.net

Stage Editor Christopher Fountain

play.stage@london-student.net

Fashion Editor Sian Lapwood

play.fashion@london-student.net

Print Editor LubaabaAl-Azami

play.print@london-student.net

Listings Editor Jean-Baptiste Thomas

listings.editor@london-student.net

Play Photo Editor Rupert Clark-Lowes

play.photo@london-student.net Sub-editors TomForkin, EmilyWray, Tom van derMerwe, Jessica Offer, Amy Bowles

About LondonStudent

London Student is the student newspaper of the University of London Union, and is edi- torially independent of ULU under an elected full-time Editor.The views expressed in this publication are those of each article’s writer and not necessarily those of the Edi- tor or of ULU. Publication, especially of com- ment pieces, does not

represent endorsement of the views expressed.

All correspondence relating to editorialmat- ters arising from articles published in this newspaper should be directed to Hilary Aked, Editor, London Student, ULU, Malet Street, LondonWC1E 7HY.Online advertising can be handled by the editor.

To advertise in the paper, contactMike Scott at BAMmarketing:ms@bamuk.com

Only half of students prepared forwork

A survey shows that only around 50% of students believe their education has prepared themfor the jobmarket.

Youngpeoplehavebaredthebrunt of

the economic downturn, with tight job markets reducing their ability toprepare for professional life. Studies show that students feel radical changes are needed in the education and employment sys- tem to improve employment prospects, with most dissatisfaction focused on a perceived lack of work experience op- portunities andunhappinesswithcareers advice.

ByZAFERKHATTAK

Students encouraged to‘step up’

Students who graduate with a 2:1 or higher will be eligible for a new gov- ernment scheme which offers them £15,000 if they take amastersdegree in SocialWork.

Local authorities are taking part in

the scheme ‘Step up to Social Work’, which aims to recruit the best graduates into theprofession.The governmenthas found it increasingly difficult to recruit newsocialworkers afterwell publicised, but comparatively rare, cases like that of Baby P have blighted the profession.

ByBERNARDGOYDER

Unlimited places for ELQ students

From the next academic year, univer- sities will be able to take on an unlim- ited number of students with a degree whowishtotake anequivalentor lower qualification (ELQ).

ELQ students are included in

HEFCE’s cap on the number of UK- based students that universities can re- cruit, despite not being allowed loans. However, places currently taken up by ELQ students will not be available to fundedstudents,potentiallyputtinguni- versities who recruited many ELQ stu- dents last year at a disadvantage.

By JOEBUCKLEY

London campus for GlasgowCaledonian

A Scottish University is opening a newLondon campus in order to take advantage of the capital’s lucrative market in overseas students.

Glasgow Caledonian (GCU) will

offer postgraduate courses in business and finance taught by GCU lecturers and visiting professors at their new £1m Spitalfields campus. GCU, being the first Scottish university to open a London Centre, aims to recruit 100 students by September, rising to 300 in future years.

By ANDRINE SKJELLAND

www.london-student.net ·1stMarch 2010

LondonStudent

Racist graffiti and slogans appeared on Staffordshire Students Union building in February. The graffitti appeared on themorning of a vote of no-confidence against outspokenMuslimStudent Union President Assed Baig. Baig survived the vote of no-confidence. The vandalismis not thought to have come fromstudents, but external actors, possibly linkedwith the BNP. Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28
Produced with Yudu - www.yudu.com