This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
\ professional development
Members’ Development Panel
A Good Practice Self-Evaluation
If you would like to discuss the professional
Tool for Financial Governance
and technical development of members in
general, contact the Members Development
A Good Practice Self-Evaluation Tool for Financial Governance Panel.
provides a simple and practical way for finance governors to For questions specific to your CPD, please
review their effectiveness and identify areas for development. contact cpd@cipfa.org.uk
The checklist, together with notes on how it should be
used, are free to download from the website Paul Hector (chair)
www.cipfa.org.uk/panels/fehe/ Stoke on Trent Council
E: paul.hector@stoke.gov.uk
Barry Mather (secretary)
CIPFA assistant director
Target your aspirations –
E: barry.mather@cipfa.org.uk
The Certificate in Charity Finance
& Accountancy
Joanne Evans
Department of Health
The Certificate in Charity Finance and Accountancy is E: joanne.evans@dh.gsi.gov.uk
now in its fourth year with student numbers going from
strength to strength. Joseph Holmes
It has been designed by CIPFA and London South Bank West Berkshire Council
University (LSBU) to enhance professional development E: jholmes@westberks.gov.uk
within the charity finance sector, so it is relevant to all
finance staff working within this sector. Grace Scanlin
It is a stand alone qualification of one year duration, Grant Thornton
commencing in September. There are two learning options; E: grace.jordan@gtuk.com
fully taught at LSBU on Thursday afternoons and evenings
or blended learning which involved CD ROM lectures. Mark McBride
Registrations are now open, so if you or a colleague Belfast City Council
are interested, contact us today. T: 020 7543 5656, E: mcbridem@belfastcity.gov.uk
E: students@cipfa.org.uk or www.cipfa.org.uk/charities
Ian Owen
Vodafone UK
E: ian.owen@vodafone.com
Tracey Purvis
WCOA 2010 moves into the
Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust
next gear
E: tracey.purvis@suht.swest.nhs.uk
The World Congress of Accountants 2010 (WCOA2010) will Steve Rowley
be held at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre from 8-11 Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council
November 2010. Focusing on the theme, ‘Accountants: E: StephenRowley@wirral.gov.uk
Sustaining Value Creation’, 39 topics have been identified and
will be presented by globally renowned speakers. Juliet Simpson
Malaysian Institute of Accountants (MIA) President Nik Newcastle University
Mohd Hasyudeen Yusoff commented, ‘The global financial E: juliet.simpson@ncl.ac.uk
crisis has taught us to create wealth in a sustainable manner
and not through maximising short-term value based on risks Paul Treadaway
that could create global havoc.’ E: paultreadaway@btinternet.com
Technical Committee Chairman Dato’ Prof Dr Daing Mohd
Nasir Daing Ibrahim remarked, ‘The topics were chosen after Katherine Bennett
extensive research by the committee with inputs received E: Katherine.m.bennett@uk.pwc.com
from various global accounting bodies and the International
Federation of Accountants (IFAC).’ Sophie Brown
www.wcoa2010kualalumpur.com E: Sophie-brown@auditcommission.gov.uk
CIPFA | Spreadsheet magazine | AUGUST 2009 21
spreadsheet_Aug09_29Jul.indd 21 29/7/09 12:56:28
Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24
Produced with Yudu - www.yudu.com