This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.


Sofia, 13 August 2014

Railway Workers’ Section Conference REPORT

The Railway Workers’ Section Conference took place on 13 August 2014. Øystein Aslaksen (Norway) chaired the meeting.

Report of the Secretariat 1.

A film highlighting key developments and activities in the ITF inland transport sections since the last Congress in 2010, was shown to the meeting.

Agenda Item 1: Election of Rapporteur 2.

Øystein Aslaksen was elected rapporteur. 3.

Wayne Butson (RMTU, New Zealand) and Marion Carstens (EVG, Germany) were elected scrutineer and teller.

Agenda Item 2: Congress Theme Document Agenda Item 3: Four Year Work Programme Agenda Item 4: Motions

4. 5. It was agreed to discuss agenda items 2, 3 and 4 together.

Mac Urata (section secretary, ITF inland transport sections) referenced the Congress Theme Document, From global crisis to global justice – transport workers fighting back and informed the Conference of the three priorities for the ITF Railway Workers’ Section for 2014-­‐2018, namely:

• Challenging further privatisation and liberalisation • Promotion of safety first policy • Organising strategies for railway workers


The following speakers were invited to address the Conference on each of the priorities for the Section:

Page 1 of 5

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5