This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Y O NE EDITOR’S VOICE HEALTH&SAFETY EDITOR’S VOICE TOMORROW’S


Editorial Editor Tim Wood tim@opusbm.co.uk


Assistant Editor Caroline Canty caroline@opusbm.co.uk


Assistant Editor Grace Holliday graceh@opusbm.co.uk


Advertising Account Manager Paul Turner paul@opusbm.co.uk


Sales Executive Megan Nourse Megan@opusbm.co.uk


Production Production Director Hannah Wilkinson hannah@opusbm.co.uk


Studio Manager Nikki Wilshaw nikki@opusbm.co.uk


Studio Assistant Grace O’Malley grace@opusbm.co.uk


Accounts Financial Director John Fuller john@opusbm.co.uk


CEO Mark Hanson mark@opusbm.co.uk


TOMORROW’S


Hello everyone and welcome to Issue 11 of Tomorrow’s Health & Safety.


So, what have we learnt since we last spoke? The biggest story that the health and safety industry has seen in the last few months is the Government’s intention to launch the new Health and Work Service that should see employers better off in planning for long-term sickness. You can find out about it, plus all the latest news and research, in our news pages.


That news comes in the same year that the Health And Safety At Work Act celebrates its 40th birthday. To celebrate, we’ve taken a trip down memory lane to look at the events that have shaped the most influential piece of health and safety legislation in recent history.


A slightly younger HSE initiative is the Fee For Intervention, which will turn two in October. Our law expert, Peter James, questions whether the scheme will reach that landmark and if it’s doing the HSE more harm than good.


Registered in England & Wales No: 06786728


Opus Business Media Ltd Zurich House, Hulley Road, Macclesfield, Cheshire SK10 2SF


Email: info@opusbusinessmedia.co.uk


Tel: 01625 426054 Fax: 01625 614787


www.tomorrowshs.com This publication is copyright Opus Business Media Ltd and may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form in whole or in part without the prior written permission of Opus Business Media Ltd. While every care has been taken during the preparation of this magazine, Opus Business Media Ltd cannot be held responsible for the accuracy of the information herein or for any consequence arising from it. The publisher does not necessarily agree with the views and opinions expressed by contributors.


Our feature sections this month cover that all too common issue, Slips, Trips and Falls, as well as Lone Worker Protection and Training & Education. Make sure to keep an eye out for comment from the likes of PHS, ANT Telecoms and Polyco, as well as all of our regulars.


It’s also worth mentioning last month’s Health & Safety Event, which offered some fantastic educational material. Don’t miss our report from the show on page 20 where we cover expected PPE changes coming into effect in the next few years.


TIM WOOD, EDITOR


4


www.tomorrowshs.com


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56