This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Stump the NCGA Rules Expert


DOUBLE STRIKING THE BALL


Lucille asks: Q. A player strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke. She is hitting her third shot out of the sand, but when the ball gets airborne, she strikes it again. Does she count the fi rst stroke, the ac- cidental strike and the penalty? A. No matter how


many times the ball is hit dur- ing the stroke, the player must count one stroke and add one penalty stroke. She would lie 5 and be required to play the ball where it came to rest. See Rule 14-4.


LOOSE BRANCHES AROUND THE COURSE


Mike asks: Q. The usual winter tree trimming is taking place at our club. Large branches cut from trees are piled in lateral hazards with the intent of running them through a chipper and spreading the chips. While the branches are in the hazards, must they be considered loose impedi- ments or may they be considered ground under repair? A. The branches that have been piled for removal are, by defi nition, ground under repair. Rule 13-4 prohibits a player from remov- ing loose impediments lying in or touching the hazard when the ball lies in it. Rule 25-1 prohibits a player from taking relief from ground under repair when the ball lies in the hazard. If the ball lies outside the hazard, the player may move the branches or take relief as prescribed in Rule 25-1b.


TEEING GROUND DEFINED


Bob asks: Q. I know that on the tee I can smooth out rough areas or even pull up grass around the ball. But what if my ball ends up on the second tee box while I’m still playing the fi rst hole. May I still improve the area around my ball if I want to? A. There is only one teeing ground of the hole being played. All other tee areas are through the green. You would not be permitted to improve the area around your ball on the second tee box, as stated in Rule 13-2.


PLACING A BALL MARKER


Bill asks: Q. Is there any defi nition to the maximum distance a ball marker can be placed from the ball position? Is it


all right to touch the ball when placing the marker? A. Decision 20-1/20 states that a player has not accurately marked his ball if he places the ball marker two inches behind the ball. A player is permitted to touch or move the ball if it is directly attributable to marking, lifting, placing or re-placing the ball (Rule 20).


Edited by Ryan Gregg, Director of Education. To submit questions e-mail rgregg@ncga.org.


Special i zing in


Workers ’ Compensat ion Property & Casual ty


Advanced Claims Service Bi l ingual Loss Cont rol Employee Benef i ts


S e r v i n g c l u b s ’ n e e d s s i n c e 1 9 8 7


Pat Hoffman 


Keith Schuler


Tony Pozas  Tom Hughes 8 0 0 - 8 7 3 - 3 7 2 5


Of f i c e s t h r o u g h o u t Ca l i f o r n i a License #0B01094 Let our experi ce guie you en d SPRING 2012 / NCGA.ORG / 61


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84