This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
Contents News


8 Judge dismisses portion of Augsburg Fortress lawsuit 10 BOP chief Kapanke to retire in September


Cover story 14 Hard Lenten lesson


20 Coming to grips with struggling congregations Challenges abound, but so do ministry responses


22 Shuttered congregation ... keeps on giving to community


25 Congregation stops, looks around ... sees what’s going down—now up


27 Study guide Features 20 Hope amid struggle


16 Two-point parish with a twist In hard times, these congregations look to a pastor who’s had a hard life


18 Ambience is more than pillows Congregation’s welcome rests in the theology of the cross


28 Between us Bright red apples and humility


33 The Spirit lifts our faith ... and we’re cleared for takeoff


37 Bible camp: Technology takes you there And keeps you there


30 The vulnerable in our pews Departments


3 A Lutheran Christian life for today


4 Editor 39 Two months out 40 Youngchurch 41 Pass the faith 42 Best this month 43 Faces


34 Politics: Good guys vs. bad guys? For breaking news, see www.thelutheran.org or www.elca.org/news


44 Higher education 45 Light side 46 Classifieds 46 Deaths 47 Crossword 48 Letters 49 My view 50 Presiding bishop


MARCH 2011 VOLUME 24 NUMBER 3


The Lutheran is the magazine of the ELCA


Subscriptions/customer service Subscription issues, address changes, billing questions:


e-mail—subscriptions@augsburgfortress.org Editorial offices:


8765 W. Higgins Rd., Chicago, IL 60631 (800) 638-3522; (773) 380-2540 Fax: (773) 380-2409


E-mail: lutheran@thelutheran.org Web: www.thelutheran.org


The Lutheran is a member of the Associated Church Press


Editor Daniel J. Lehmann lutheran.editor@thelutheran.org


Associate editors Julie B. Sevig Congregations & Community julie.sevig@thelutheran.org Elizabeth Hunter Church & World elizabeth.hunter@thelutheran.org


Editorial production mngr. Andrea S. Pohlmann andrea.pohlmann@thelutheran.org


Art director Michael D. Watson michael .watson@thelutheran.org


Web manager and Amber Leberman associate art director amber.leberman@thelutheran.org


Circulation/marketing director Curtis Peterson curtis.peterson@thelutheran.org


Advertising director Joel Stombres joel.stombres@thelutheran.org


Contributing editor Jeff Favre jjfavre@gmail.com


Study guide editor Rob Blezard rcblezard@hotmail.com


Assistant to the editor Barbara A. Fletcher barbara.fletcher@thelutheran.org


The Lutheran is published monthly through Augsburg Fortress, Publishers, Box 1209, Minneapolis, MN 55440. (ISSN 0024-743X USPS 322080)


For display and classified advertising sales: (800) 638-3522 Ext. 2405; advertising@thelutheran.org. Acceptance of advertising does not imply endorsement.


Subscription rates: $17.95 a year; outside N. America add $9.20 for postage. Payable in U.S. funds. Send subscription requests to The Lutheran Circulation, % Augsburg Fortress, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440-8730. Or subscribe online: www. thelutheran.org.


On tape: Customer Service, Box 1553, Minneapolis, MN 55440; (800) 328-4648.


On microfilm: National Archive Publishing Company (NAPC), 300 N. Zeeb Rd., PO Box 998, Ann Arbor, MI 48106-0998.


Copyright ©2011 Augsburg Fortress. All rights reserved. Duplication in whole or in part in any form is prohibited without written permission from the publishers. Printed in the U.S.A.


Nonprofit Periodicals Postage paid at Minneapolis, MN, and additional mailing offices.


POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: The Lutheran, Augsburg Fortress, Publishers, PO Box 1553, Minneapolis MN 55440-8730.


The Lutheran magazine belongs to the people of the ELCA in all our diversity. The magazine: ■ Nurtures awareness of Christ’s presence in our lives and the world.


■ Shares stories of God’s people living their faith. ■ Connects us with the global Christian community. ■ Provides an open forum for discussion. ■ Challenges us to bring God’s grace and care to all.


COVER: TERRY FROCK AT THE GYM ST. PAUL LUTHERAN HELPED BUILD IN WESTMINSTER, MD., WHEN THE CONGREGATION CLOSED. FROCK IS HOLDING HIS GRANDMOTHER’S BIBLE, DATED 1899, THAT WAS FOUND ON A BOOKSHELF IN THE CHURCH AFTER IT CLOSED. PHOTO BY LISA HELFERT.


phone—(800) 328-4648


March 2011 5


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52